Cork International Poetry Festival

13th – 17th February 2018

The Munster Literature Centre has been holding a Spring Literary Festival since 1993. However, in previous years the festival was called ‘Éigse’ (an Irish word meaning a gathering of poets and writers). In years past, the festival included a chapbook competition called ‘Fool For Poetry’, which has been recently replaced by the Gregory O’Donoghue International Poetry Prize for a single poem. We have, however, kept the Éigse tradition of giving the Festival a ‘theme’. Past themes have included ‘Dinnsheanchas: The Lore of Place’ (2010); ‘Humour & Irony’ (2009); ‘Belief & Unbelief’ (2008); ‘War & Politics’ (2007) and ‘Love & Desire’ (2006).

Authors who have appeared previously at our festival include:

From America: Ilya Kaminsky, August Kleinzahler, Darcey Steinke, Brian Turner, Martín Espada.

From Britain: Colette Bryce, Rev. Jim Cotter, Toby Litt, Sarah Maguire, Fiona Pith-Kethley, Dan Rhodes, Neil Rollinson, Jo Shapcott, John Hartley Williams.

From Asia: Amir Or, Shan Sa, Yang Lian, Yasuhiro Yoshimoto.

From Europe: Andres Ehin, Barbara Korun, Ileana Malancioiu, Haaken Sandell, Hansjorg Schertenleib.

From Ireland: Ciaran Carson, Mary Morrissey, Colm Toibin, Hugo Hamilton, J.P. Donleavy, Bernard MacLaverty, Patrick Galvin, Alan Titley, Mary Leland, Dennis O’Driscoll, Glen Patterson, Kerry Hardie, Medbh McGuckian, Marie Heaney and many, many others.

Tickets Sales

Tickets are available to purchase online until Sunday the 11th of February. We also accept bookings by post with cheques made payable to The Munster Literature Centre.
Tickets for Tuesday’s events cannot be pre-booked but will be available at the venues. 
During the week of the festival tickets may be purchased directly at the Cork Arts Theatre box office: 021 4505624 / 
Early arrival recommended to avoid disappointment! Admission may be blocked after an event begins. 

Refunds will be given only if an event is cancelled.